Home Page



At Farnsfield St. Michael’s, we aim to provide a relevant PSHE curriculum to promote pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development and prepare them for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of life.

PSHE is taught in all classes through a variety of different approaches. Depending on the needs of individual children and the class as a whole, the class teacher will decide on the best activities to do and how often PSHE will to be taught. These activities can take many forms, e.g. circle time, co-operative games, role play, cross- curricular lessons, D.A.R.E. project (KS2). Many of these activities are delivered through SEAL lessons.

SEAL (Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning) is a series of five PSHE units which cover social and emotional aspects of learning: self-awareness, managing feelings, motivation, empathy and social skills. Within each of these aspects of learning there are a number of individual skills, for example, an early skill within the aspect of empathy would be to see something from someone else’s point of view. Most of these skills are developmental and change over time which is why SEAL is based on a spiral curriculum that revisits each theme (and the skills it covers) each year building on the concepts, understanding and skills that have been learned previously.

SEAL is taught through seven themes that are relevant at specific times during the school year: 

1. New beginnings                                                                                                                                            

2. Getting on and falling out                                                                                                                               

3. Say no to bullying (coincides with Anti- Bullying Week)  

4. Going for goals                                                                                                    

5. Good to be me                                                                                                                                                  6. Relationships                                                                                                                                            

7. Changes

Also, as part of our PSHE curriculum SRE (Sex and Relationship Education) is taught in KS1 and KS2, on a two year rolling cycle.